Feeds 2.0 vs FeedHub

FeedHub has launched its personalized feed and recommendation product at the 2007 DEMOfall Conference. It creates a personalized RSS feed from you reading list and intelligently displays the most relevant posts.

With FeedHub, you can import your feed reading list (RSS feeds in an OPML format) and FeedHub produces a personalized feed from it. The feed can then be imported into your favorite feed reader.

Here’s how you can do exactly the same with Feeds 2.0 (if my memory serves me right, I believe that we implemented this feature more than a year ago):

a) Import your OPML list

b) Select “All posts” and then just copy the URL of the RSS icon.

c) Import your Feeds 2.0 (re-mixed and personalized) feed by pasting the above URL to your favorite feed reader. For this example I will import my personalized feed to GReader.

d) Enjoy and save time browsing your feeds.

However I like the fact that FeedHub leverages a combination between active human inputs and machine learning. It creates memes from popular bookmarking services like (Digg and Delicious) to identify articles by topic or category and is supposed to automatically discover new memes and based on the previous items a user interacted with. It strongly reminds me of the very interesting Ilya Grigorik’s aideRSS principles.

P.S. Ooops, I guess that from my personalized feed list above you can easily see what we’ve been up to recently 🙂

12 comments so far

  1. nikan on

    Methinks that Feedhub has an inherent internationalization issue. It relies on dmoz for categorizing, therefore it is only in English. I get a bunch of question marks for the Greek posts in my personalised published feed. I sent a support request, but no answer so far.

    But you guys, when are you going to launch???

  2. Blaze on

    One major difference is that FeedHub is publicly available.

  3. ricksterman on

    I’ve just applied for an «account» with feeds 2.0.

    While I receive about 600 items a day, english and non-english, feedhub usually doesn’t update for 48 hrs or so, and when it does only returns about 4 or 5 results; aideRSS, though updates daily, usually only returns about 10 results per day, «ignoring» the filtering rules, even when I set them to process all or most of the posts of certain feeds; and feedrinse isn’t quite what i’m looking for.

    So, I believe you’re my last hope to tame my feed beast. Help 🙂

  4. Blaze on

    So.. Has Feeds 2.0 gone vapor or what?

  5. feeds2 on

    Blaze,

    Why do you say that? Site is up and running, isn’t it? Any problems with your account?

    The Feeds 2.0 team

  6. Ben on

    I’m very interested in Feeds 2.0 and applied for a beta account several months ago, but haven’t received anything. Are you accepting new beta users or opening up registration soon?

    I’ve been using FeedHub, but haven’t been very impressed so far….

  7. feeds2 on

    Hey Ben,

    Thank you for your interest in Feeds 2.0.

    We apologize for not having sent you a beta account invitation yet, but if you could just send us the e-mail address by which you registered for an account perhaps we can try to accelerate the process a bit 😉

    Thanks,

    The Feeds 2.0 team

  8. Ben on

    Ok! 🙂 Couldn’t figure out how to you e-mail you guys directly, so I’ll just leave my e-mail here in your blog. It is: feeds2{at}ibeni.net Thanks!

  9. mihun on

    Hi!

    Folks, whats up? When Feeds2 will be opened to public?

    I’ve apllied long time ago and don’t see any news.
    Could you give me an invite to the beta?

    chekanov at gmail com
    Thanks in advance.

  10. Kostas on

    Ti ginete paidia?Pws paei?Tha anoiksoun suntoma ta registrations?Toulaxiston ena public beta…

  11. kostas on

    Geia sas paidia
    Epese to feeds2?
    Egw toulaxiston den mporw na mpw
    tha ksananebei?

  12. Nikos on

    A slight problem with the server. Tha ksananevei syntoma…


Leave a Reply

